Failure Alchemy

We all fail.

Heroes fail.

That is part of life.

I failed yesterday, in a manner of speaking. I have been hard at work on getting some serious habits in place that will support me in growing my writing practice, getting published more, growing my business, and ultimately making more money. Let’s face it, I would love to say that I have loftier goals, but the truth is, that is at the crux of everything that I have been doing for the last five years or so.

It makes me uncomfortable to even put it right out there, but there it is.

I have been kicking ass at developing these habits, 500 words a day, working out regularly, posting to social media and things like that.  I have even got a beta e book project that I am working on.  I have been killing it.  Wrote 10,000 words last month, am right on track for the ebook I have in progress and have been at the gym at least three times a week.

Until yesterday.

Fell off the wagon huge.

Now, I could sit here and make excuses. I was taken down by allergies,  my head was a foggy mess, my body ached from maybe overdoing it at the gym a bit, and I needed to sleep. How I was feeling was making me cry. I was pretty pathetic.

Truth is, I could have hit my goals anyhow.

I could have muscled through. I wasn’t dead.

I need to acknowledge, first off, that I chose not to.

Secondly, I need to recognize that sometimes I need to listen to my body.

And I also need to acknowledge that today is a new day.

I could see it as a failure, and a big part of my mind was shouting at me that I suck, that I failed and it’s all over.  Don’t I always do this after all? Screw it up?

Maybe.

Maybe not.

Maybe what is true is that yesterday wasn’t a screw up. What would be is not getting back on it today, shuffling the list, and making it work to get it all done anyhow, along with the housework that is calling, and the laundry that needs to get done.

The only way shit gets done is one thing at a time.

And the only time we have to do it is right now.

Fretting about yesterday would only take me away from the right now that I have to get the shit done.

Accept the choice to set it down. Acknowledge that it’s time to pick it back up, and get back onto the path.

Take one step forward.

Feel the resistance.

Push back against it.

This is how we grow.

This is how we make failure not failure. This is how we make failure into a future.

Leave a Reply

