Just Sit Down & Write Already.

Commit to a word count that feels easy. The point here is to develop the habit. Make it one of the first things you do in your day. I make sure it is on my agenda because I am an absolute freak about crossing things off.  It feels good to me to cross an item off my to do list. It means I didn’t sit around and do nothing, and that I am moving towards my goals.

Let’s face it, you’re not a writer if you aren’t writing anything at all, ever.

To be a writer you have to write – something.

This is where to start. Write something everyday. I started with 500 words because that felt easy to me. Maybe for you it will be 200. Start there.

Writing a book can be likened to eating and elephant.  The average book starts at 50,000 well crafted words. That’s huge. You can’t do that in a day. Maybe in a month (Hello NaNoWriMo) but not in a day, and more than likely not on your first go. You need to flex your muscles, get the words flowing and learn how to show up even when inspiration doesn’t. You do that one day, one word at a time. After all, the water can’t flow unless you turn on the tap.

Another thing that messes with our all too fragile heads is our role models. For me it’s people like Liz Gilbert and Brene Brown that totally do a number on me.  They have put out such wise, well crafted work.  My goal is to be like them.  If I let myself dwell too long on comparing my work to Brene’s, I would never let a word I write see the light of day.  I have to remind myself that she started somewhere too.  Fortunately, we also live in the age of the internet, and both of these women do regular talks, so I have heard their stories about how they got to where they are.  It was entirely one step at a time, starting at the beginning.

I am not going to create an empire with my first blog post, or a best seller with my first book. It just doesn’t happen that way. Neither are you.  Focus on the words. Focus on showing up every day. This is your job. It’s not your job to be a genius. It’s your job to be at the keyboard, putting the words on the page, being open to inspiration, so that when genius does decide to show up, you are there to meet her.

Liz Gilbert has some awesome stuff to say about genius. I’ll let her do the talking 🙂

Leave a Reply

